calculate overtime pay

Tipped Workers: Your overtime pay can never be less than your minimum wage!
Find in the next link overtime pay calculations

Full Time Minimum Wage: $340 pw

2017: $74.00 per day, $370.00 per week and $19,240.00 per year

2018: $80.80 per day, $404.00 per week and $21,008.00 per year

Exempt from Minimum Wage

You are exempt from the Hawaiian minimum wage if you are:

  • a person with a guaranteed monthly salary of $2000.00 per month;
  • a state or county worker;
  • a worker in coffee harvesting operation;
  • an agricultural worker if your employer has fewer than 20 employees;
  • a domestic worker;
  • a houseparent in a charitable organisation;
  • the employer's relative (brother, sister, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, son, daughter, spouse, parent, parent-in-law);
  • employed in a bona fide executive, administrative, supervisory, or professional capacity;
  • an outside salesperson or collector;
  • work in the fish or aquatic farming industry prior to first processing;
  • a seafarer;
  • an on-call, fixed stand vehicle driver;
  • a golf caddy;
  • a student employee of a nonprofit school;
  • a seasonal employee of certain nonprofit youth camps;
  • an automobile or truck salesperson for a licensed dealer.

    A lot of workers are covered for their minimum wage by the Fair Labor Standards Act - find out more about the coverage and exemption of the FLSA 

OVERTIME PAY HAWAII: $13.88 per hour

2017: $13.88

2018: $15.15

Note: Overtime pay is the cash compensation for the hours eligible employees work in excess of 40 hours in a workweek (a workweek = 7x24= 168 hours). The overtime pay rate is one and one-half (1.5) times the regular working hour rate of pay.

Note: Employers in certain industries may select 20 work-weeks per year during which they shall be exempt from the overtime compensation requirement, although they must pay 1 1/2 times the regular rates for hours in excess of 48 per week. 

The industries are: agriculture; first processing of dairy products; processing of sugar cane molasses or sugar cane; first processing or canning or packing and agricultural or horticultural commodity; handling, slaughtering, or dressing poultry or livestock; agriculture and processing of agricultural products seasonally; or first processing or canning or packing of seasonal fresh fruits.


$9.25 in 2017; and $10.10 in 2018.

Note: the minimum wage is applicable to most most employees in Hawaii, with exemptions for state and county workers, some student workers and others. See more at Exemptions.


Cash wage: 2017: $8.50 - 2018: $9.35.

Maximum tip credit 2016 -2018: $0.75, to deduct only if you earn $7 more than the minimum wage through tips and wages.


NOTE: A service or tipped employee means an employee of hotel, motel, tourist place, or restaurant, who customarily and regularly receives more than $20.00 a month in tips.

Note: Tip Credit in Hawaii permissible if the combined amount the employee receives from the employer and in tips is at least 50 cents more than the applicable minimum wage.

Note:The cash wage or basic wage rate is the minimum required employer contribution towards your hourly minimum wage. The "maximum tip credit" is the amount of tips you will need on top of your cash wage to make the minimum wage of $9.25 per hour. If you do not receive sufficient tips in your workweek to achieve the minimum wage for all hours worked that week, your employer must make up the difference.

Minimum Wage Trainees, Internship

Interns or trainees in the for-profit private sector who are qualifying more as employees than as trainees must be paid at least the minimum wage and overtime compensation for more then 40 hours worked in a workweek.

Read more via the next link about Minimum Wage Internships.

Violations Minimum Wage

Any employer who violates the minimum wage or overtime provisions set by law is liable to the employee or employees affected in the amount of their unpaid minimum wages or unpaid overtime compensation, and in the case of wilful violation in an additional amount as liquidated damages. To file a complaint concerning these laws you can contact your nearest Wage and Hour Division or call the Department's Toll-Free Wage and Hour HelpLine at 1.-866-4-US-WAGE  (1-866-487-9243).

Honolulu District Office
US Dept. of Labor
Wage & Hour Division
300 Ala Moana Blvd, Room 7225
Honolulu, HI 96850
(808) 541-1361

Young Workers and Students

Under 20 Minimum Wage - $4.25 per hour
Federal law allows any employer in Hawaii to pay a new employee who is under 20 years of age a training wage of $4.25 per hour for the first 90 days of employment

Student Minimum Wage - $6.16 per hour
Full-time high school or college students who work part-time may be paid 85% of the Hawaii minimum wage for up to 20 hours at certain employers.