Minimum Wages

US Federal, States, Cities, Territorial Minimum Wages @ US

Minimum Wage Check: Federal, State, Territorial

Notes: if federal and state law have different minimum wage rates, the higher standard applies. Minimum Wages are applicable to nonsupervisory, nonfarm, private sector employment covered under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Click on the next links for more information about: 
Federal Minimum Wage
Minimum Wage per State
Territorial Minimum Wage
MInimum Wage Tipped Workers
Minimum Wage Young Workers/Students
MInimum Wage Workers with Disabilities

Federal Minimum Wage

Wage per hour 
Federal (sub)contractors $10.20 - Read more at Minimum wage federal contractors

Minimum Wage per State

State Minimum Wage 2018 per hour
Future Minimum Wage and Notes

Federal minimum applies.

ALASKA $9.84

to be adjusted based on inflation or remain $1 higher than the federal minimum.

ARIZONA $10.50 Increases annually upon cost of living formula. This rate increase does not affect student workers in places as libraries and cafeterias because those positions are given by universities, which are State entities. See more info here on the Arizona and also the Flagstaff minimum wage 

With an allowance for gratuities in 2017 not to exceed $5.87 per hour.

The Arkansas minimum wage applies to employers of four (4) or more persons. 

Osage Nation: $11.50


Click here for California Counties, Cities and Tribal Minimum Wages



See more at Minimum Wage Colorado

Calculated annually upon cost of living formula


New London: $10.10 for municipal workers and contractors. 


The Delaware minimum wage is automatically replaced with the Federal minimum wage rate if it is higher than the State minimum.

New Castle County employees: $10.10

Delaware tribe: $8.50

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA $11.50 Jul.1, 2017: $12.50, It will be raised each year thereafter until it reaches $15.00 per hour in July of 2020, after that it will be increased based on the CPI.

See for city's minimum wages and more Florida Minimum Wage


GEORGIA $5.15 applicable to employers with 6 or more employees, less than 6 then there is no minimum wage.
HAWAII $10.10 See more at: Minimum Wage Hawaii
IDAHO $7.25  
ILLINOIS $8.25  

New employees (First 90 days of employment) and employees under age 18 may be paid up to $0.50 less. Applicable to employers of 4 or more employees, excluding family members.

Chicago city contractors: $13.00 for contracts advertised by the city after Oct. 1 2014.

Chicago: $10.50; July 1, 2017: $11.00; July 1, 2018: $12.00; July 2019: $13.00

Cook county: July 1, 2017: $10 an hour,  July 1, 2018: $11,  July 1, 2019: $12 in July 2019, July 1, 2020: $13.

INDIANA $7.25  Employees under 20 years of age may be paid $4.25 per hour during their first 90 consecutive days of employment. Applicable to employers of 2 or more employees.
IOWA $7.25   

Employers are  eligible to pay less than the minimum wage for the first 90 calendar days of employment.

Johnson County: $10.10 Applies after 90 days of employment for new employees; applies only for work done in the county; must perform at least two hours of work in a two hour period in the county to be entitled to the minimum wage.

Linn County: Jan.1, 2017: $8.25; Jan.1, 2018: $9.25; Jan.1, 2019: $10.25. (see Ordinance) - Hiawatha’s City Council has expressed support for the ordinance, councils in Marion and Cedar Rapids seem split.

Polk County: April 2017: $8.75; Jan. 2018: $9.75; Jan. 2019: $10.75

Wapello County: Jan. 1, 2017: $8.20; Jan.1, 2018: $9.15; Jan. 1, 2019: $10.10

KANSAS $7.25   Employees not covered by the Federal Fair Labor Standard Act are subject to Kansas minimum wage laws.
For workers under 20: $4.25.

July 1st, 2015: $10.10 for state executive branch workers July, private companies with state service contracts will have to pay their workers at least $10.10 per hour. But that won't take effect until the current contracts come up for renewal.

Louisville Metro: $7.75 and to $9 by July 1, 2017 - Oct. 2016: minimum wage increase is ruled 'invalid and uneforceable' by the Kentucky Supreme court.

Lexington County: $8.20 - July 1, 2017: $9.15 and July 1, 2018: $10.10 - Oct 2016: this minimum wage increase is ruled 'invalid and unenforceable' by the Kentucky Supreme Court.

LOUISIANA NONE Federal minimum applies.
MAINE $10.00

Jan. 1, 2017: $9.00, after that it will raise $1 each year, until it reaches $12.00 by 2020. After that, it will be tied to inflation.

Portland: Jan. 1, 2017: $10.68
Bangor: Jan.1 2017: $8.25, Jan.1 2018: $9.00, Jan. 1 2019: 9.75


July 2017: $9.25; July 2018: $10.10

The minimum wage is automatically replaced with the Federal minimum wage rate if it is higher than the State minimum wage rate.

Montgomery county:  $10.75; July 2017: $11.50
Prince George's County: $10.75; Oct. 2017: $11.50


$3.75 for service (tipped) employees, $8.00 for agricultural employees.

Home care workers, International Union Local 1199, starting pay up in stages from $13.38 to $15 an hour by July 2018.


2017, Jan.1: $8.90, 85% rate: $7.57, tip $3.38

2018, Jan.1: $9.25, 85% rate: $7.86, tip $3.52

Minors 16-17 years of age may be paid 85% of the minimum hourly wage rate. A training wage of $4.25 per hour may be paid to workers 16 to 19 years of age for the first days of employment.

Little Traverse Bay Bands of Odawa: $10.50


for large companies with annual gross sales over $500,000: $9.50 
for smaller companies with annual gross sales below $500,000: $7.75
youth rate and training rate for the first 90 of employment: $7.75

Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe employees: $10.25

MISSISSIPPI NONE Federal minimum applies.

Increases annually upon cost of living formula. Employers engaged in retail or service business whose annual gross income is less than $500,000 are required to pay the state minimum wage rate. 

See more at Minimum Wage Missouri


Increases annually upon cost of living formula. No tip credit, training wage or meal credit is allowed. The minimum pay is $4/hour for business with less than $110,000 in annual sales.

Missoula non-union city workers: Jan.1 2017: $13.50; Jan.1, 2018: $15.00

See more at Minimum Wage Montana


All employers having four or more full or part-time employees are subject to paying the minimum wage.

NEVADA $8.25/7.25   For a worker with health insurance coverage offered by his or her employer, the hourly rate is $7.25, regardless if the worker accept this offer, according to the Supreme Court in Oct. 2016. For a worker without medical coverage offer, the rate is $8.25 an hour. The law also set a 10 percent wage cap on the amount an employee can be required to contribute toward coverage - tips are not to be included in those calculation
NEW HAMPSHIRE $7.25 The minimum wage is automatically replaced with the Federal minimum wage rate if it is higher than the State minimum wage rate.

The minimum wage is based on any percentage increase during the one-year period of

August of the prior year through August of the current year of the consumer price index.

Gov. Chris Christie (R) vetoed a measure lawmakers approved June 23 2016 that would have increased the minimum wage to $15 by 2021.


Not linked to the federal rate. 

SANTA FE : $10.91
ALBUQUERQUE rate: $8.80, 
but the minimum wage will be $7.80 if an employer provides healthcare and/or childcare benefits to the employee during any pay period and the employer pays an amount for these benefits equal to or in excess of an annualizes cost of $2,500.
LAS CRUCES: $9.20; Jan. 2019: $10.10 
SANTA FE : $10.91




Click here for NYC, Long Island and Westchester Counties minimum wage and for tipped workers minimum wages in these area's


Dec. 1, 2015: Wake County employees: $13.50

Greensboro city contract and seasonal employees (excluding Coliseum workers): $10.00

N. DAKOTA $7.25  
OHIO $8.30

applies to workers of 16 and older working for employers with an annual gross receipts of at least $299,000. Workers of smaller companies, and for under 16 year olds: the federal minimum wage of $7.25.

Increases annually upon cost of living formula.
See more at Minimum Wage Ohio


for employers of ten or more full time employees at any one location and for employers with annual gross sale over $100,000 irrespective of number of full time employees. All other employers $2.00.
Federal minimum wage is used as reference; no amounts written in law.

Cherokee Nation: $9.50

Cheyenne Arapaho Tribe: $9.00

Chickasaw Nation: $9.50

Muscogee Nation: $10.50

Osage Nation: $11.50

OREGON $9.50/9.75

Click here to get more info on the Oregon state, city/county minimum wages


State employees and state contractors: $10.25

Philadelphia's city contractors and subcontractors: $12.00 per hour.

Pittsburgh city employees: $15.00


except full time students under 19: $8.10 per hour, minors of 14 and 15 years old: $6.75
See more at Minimum Wage Rhode Island

S. CAROLINA NONE Federal minimum applies.
S. DAKOTA $8.85

minimum wage raised each year based on inflation.

TENNESSEE NONE Federal minimum applies.
TEXAS $7.25 Federal minimum wage used as reference; no amounts written in law.
See more at Minimum Wage Texas
UTAH $7.25 Federal minimum wage used as reference; no amounts written in law.
VERMONT $10.50

increases linked to inflation

See more at Minimum Wage Vermont

VIRGINIA $7.25 Federal minimum wage used as reference; no amounts written in law.

See at Minimum Wage Washington


Applicable to employers of 6 or more employees at one location.
See more at Minimum Wage West Virginia

WISCONSIN $7.25   Ho-Chunk Nation employees: $10.00 
WYOMING  $5.15     


Territorial Minimum Wage

Territory Minimum Wage per hour Future Minimum Wage and Notes
AMERICAN SAMOA $4.60 - $5.99 Varies by industry: 
  • Bottling, brewing, dairy prod. Ind.: $5.09
  • Construction: $5.50
  • Finance/Insurance: $5.89
  • Fish Canning/Processing Ind.: $5.16 
  • Garment Manufacturing Ind: $4.58 
  • Government Employees: $4.81 
  • Hotel Ind.: $4.90
  • Petroleum Ind.: $5.75 
  • Printing: $5.40
  • Private Hospitals/educational Institutions: $5.23 
  • Publishing: $5.53
  • Retailing, Wholesaling, Warehousing Ind.: $5.00 
  • Ship Maintenance: $5.41
  • Shipping and Transportation: Class A Stevedoring, Lighterage and Maritime Shipping Agency Activities: $5.99
  • Shipping and Transportation: Class B Unloading Fish: $5.82
  • Shipping and Transportation: Class C other activities than above: $5.78
  • Tour and Travel Ind.: $5.38
  • Miscellaneous Activities: $4.60
Federally mandated 50 cent minimum wage increases are to go into effect annually until the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour is reached.
GUAM $10.10 Bill 312-33, which would increase the minimum wage from $8.25 to $9.20 beginning May 1, 2017, and then to $10.10 in 2018 was vetoed by the governor.

The next increase unless there is a delay will be on September 30, 2017 and every year thereafter at $.50 increase which will bring the CNMI federal minimum wage to $7.05 per hour until it reaches the applicable US federal minimum wage.

PUERTO RICO $5.08 - $7.25 Varies by industry. Employers not covered by the FLSA will be subject to a minimum wage that is at least 70 percent of the Federal minimum wage or the applicable mandatory decree rate, whichever is higher. The Secretary of Labor and Human Resources may authorize a rate based on a lower percentage for any employer who can show that implementation of the 70 percent rate would substantially curtail employment in that business.

Except businesses with gross annual receipts of less than $150,000, then $4.30. (In practice, the Virgin Islands adopts the Federal per hour rate)

The tourist service industry and restaurant workers who are tipped employees must be compensated at a rate of not less than 40 percent of the prevailing minimum wage.

The next minimum wage increase to $10.50 will take effect on January 1, 2018.