MINIMUM WAGE RATE Missouri: $7.70

All employers must pay the minimum wage, except employers engaged in retail or service businesses whose annual gross income is less than $500,000. There are also certain classes of employees exempt.

Missouri's minimum wage is recalculated yearly based on the Consumer Price Index. 

Tipped Workers: Your overtime pay can never be less than your minimum wage!

Full Time Minimum Wage

$       61.60 per day
$     308.00 per week 
$16,016.00 per year 

Based on a 8 hour day, 40 hours per week and 52 weeks per year before taxes.

Kansas City Minimum Wage

05/10/17 - Kansas City’s $8.50 an hour rate is set to take effect in September, eventually increasing to $13 by 2023.

Overtime Pay Missouri

Overtime Pay Missouri: $11.55 per hour

he overtime pay rate is one and one-half (1.5) times the regular working hour rate of pay.
Overtime pay is the cash compensation for the hours eligible employees work in excess of:
40 hours in a workweek (a workweek = 7x24= 168 hours). 
12 hours per workday
12 consecutive hours without regard to the starting and ending time of the workday (excluding duty free meal periods)
Whichever calculation results in the greater payment of wages.

St.Louis Minimum Wage

05/10/17 - St Louis raised the minimum wage to $10 an hour in 2017after a 2 year legal battle. It will go up to $11 an hour by January 2018. The new minimum won’t apply to businesses that gross under $500,000 a year or employ fewer than 15 workers. It doesn’t apply to employees who work less than 20 hours per calendar year.

St. Louis pizzeria raises minimum wage

A St. Louis restaurant owner isn't waiting for Congress or the Missouri Legislature to raise the minimum wage to boost his own workers' pay. Pi Pizzeria owner Chris Sommers says he will pay all of his employees $10.10 an hour starting on April 1, instead of the Missouri state's minimum of $7.50. Source:

Minimum Wage Tipped Workers

Cash Wage: $3.85

Maximum Tip Credit: $3.85


Note:The cash wage or basic or direct wage rate is the minimum required employer contribution towards your hourly minimum wage. The "maximum tip credit" is the amount of tips you will need on top of your cash wage to make a full minimum wage per hour. If you do not receive sufficient tips in your workweek to achieve the minimum wage for all hours worked that week, your employer must make up the difference.

Minimum Wage Trainees, Internship

Interns or trainees in the for-profit private sector who are qualifying more as employees than as trainees must be paid at least the minimum wage and overtime compensation for more then 40 hours worked in a workweek.

Read more via the next link about Minimum Wage Internships.

Violations Minimum Wage

The Missouri Division of Labor may accept complaints regarding non-payment of the minimum wage. You can call 573-751-3403, you can email your complaint to , or you can file an online complaint at the website. In the next link you will find the online complaint forms.
Please note that the Division of Labor Standards is not authorized by law to pursue an employee's wage claim in Court. Instead you can pursue private right of action to collect any wages due.