MINIMUM WAGE RATE Oklahoma: $7.25 per hour

An Oklahoma employer must comply with the state minimum wage laws if the company has at least 10 full-time employees or equivalent and/or grosses more than $100,000 annually.


Exempt of the Oklahoma's minimum wage act are:

1) a worker on a farm; a worker on a ranch; a worker with animals on a farm or ranch; or a mechanic on a farm or ranch;
(2) a maid;
(3) a federal government worker;
(4) someone who volunteers for a charity, church, or nonprofit club;
(5) a newspaper vendor or carrier;
(6) a railroad worker;
(7) any worker who is already being paid the federal minimum wage or more;
(8) executives; someone in an administrative job; professionals; or an “outside” salesman;
(9) any person employed as part-time employee not on permanent status. A part-time employee is defined as an employee who is employed less than twenty-five (25) hours a week;

(10) anyone younger than 18 who hasn’t graduated from school, and anyone younger than 22 who is in school;
(11) anyone who works in a feedstore; or
(12) a reserve deputy sheriff.

Coverage FLSA

More than 230 million American workers are protected (or "covered") by the Fair Labor Standard Act (FLSA ) for their minimum wage, but there are exemptions. Read more about:

Full Time Minimum Wage: $290 per week

Or approximately $ 15,080.00 per year.

Based on a 8 hour day and 260 day work per year before taxes.

Minimum Wage Tipped Workers

Cash Wage: $2.13
Maximum Tip Credit: $5.12

Note: For employers with fewer than 10 full-time employees at any one location who have gross annual sales of $100,000 or less, the basic minimum cash rate is $2.00 per hour

Note:The cash wage or basic or direct wage rate is the minimum required employer contribution towards your hourly minimum wage. The "maximum tip credit" is the amount of tips you will need on top of your cash wage to make the minimum wage of $7.25 per hour. If you do not receive sufficient tips in your workweek to achieve the minimum wage for all hours worked that week, your employer must make up the difference.

Note: find out about the law for tipped employees according to the Fair Labor Standard Act.

Minimum Wage Trainees, Internship

Interns or trainees in the for-profit private sector who are qualifying more as employees than as trainees must be paid at least the minimum wage and overtime compensation for more then 40 hours worked in a workweek.

Read more via the next link about Minimum Wage Internships

Minimum Wage Young Workers-Students

Any employee under the age of 22 who are enrolled as full-time students are exempt from Oklahoma's minimum wage law (but the special minimum wage of $2.00 per hour still applies).

See more about the pay of young workers covered under  the FLSA.

Oklahoma Bans Local Minimum Wage Hikes

Oklahoma cities and towns are banned from raising the local minimum wage under a new state law. Gov. Mary Fallin signed the measure April 14, 2014. The new law also bars localities from requiring that employees receive a certain number of sick or vacation days, either paid or unpaid.

Oklahoma Tribes Hike Minimum Wages

Cherokee Nation: $9.50

Chickasaw Nation: $9.00 ($1.75 more than federal level of $7.25)

Osage Nation: $11.50

Cheyenne Arapaho Tribe: $9.00 ($1.75 more than federal level of $7.25)

Muscogee (Creek) Nation: $10.50

Oklahoma's 39 federally recognized tribes are exempt from state law because of their sovereign nature and can raise therefor their minimum wage, despite legislation to prevent increases. Source: OklahomaWatch 

Overtime Pay Oklahoma

Overtime Pay: $10.88 per hour
Overtime pay is the cash compensation for the hours eligible employees work in excess of 40 hours in a workweek (a workweek = 7x24= 168 hours). The overtime pay rate is one and one-half (1.5) times the regular working hour rate of pay.

Uniform is Wage

Cost of uniforms given to workers can be added to the wages in an amount equal to the
reasonable cost of furnishing the uniforms.

Violations Minimum Wage

The Commissioner of Labor, Mark Costello, can investigate whether wages are due workers. If any employee’s employment has terminated and the Commissioner finds that wages are due, a penalty of 2% per day up to the total amount of the wage claim will be added to the wages due. If the employer pays the wages (and the penalty) and the worker accepts the payment, that’s the end of the wage claim.

If a court finds an employer hasn’t paid all wages due, the law says the employer is liable for double the amount of the wages minus any sums already paid to the worker. The employer is also liable for court costs and reasonable attorney fees of at least $100. The employer can’t defend a wage claim by arguing that there was an agreement with the worker to work for less than the lawful wage. The law says an employer who pays or even agrees to pay less than the lawful wage is guilty of a misdemeanour. The punishment could be a fine of not more than $500. The punishment could be as much as six (6) months in the county jail. The punishment could be both a fine and jail time.

Oklahoma Department of Labor

3017 N Stiles, Suite 100

Oklahoma City,

OK 73105

Local(405) 521-6100

Toll Free(888) 269-5353

Fax(405) 521-6018

440 South Houston, Suite 300
Tulsa, OK 74127
Telephone 918-581-2400
Fax 918-581- 2431

U.S. Department of Labor

Toll-free, nation-wide 866-487-2365

Oklahoma City
215 Dean A. McGee Boulevard
Oklahoma City, OK 73102
Telephone 405-231-4545
525 South Griffin, Suite 707
Dallas, TX 75202
Telephone 214-767-6831