Collective Bargaining

The Texas Minimum Wage Act does not prohibit you from bargaining with your colleagues collectively with your employer for a higher wage.

Cost of Meals and Lodgings

Your employer can include the reasonable costs in your wage of furnishing meals, lodging etc. if: meals and lodging are customarily furnished by your employer, and if: costs of the meals and lodgings are separately stated and identified in your earnings statement.

Full Time Minimum Wage: $15,080 per year

Or approximately $290 per week.

Based on a 8 hour day and 260 days work per year before taxes.


Texas adopts the federal minimum wage rate by reference. Any changes of the federal minimum wage will automatically affect the Texas minimum wage.

Minimum Wage Supersedes:

wages established in an ordinance, order or charter provision governing wages in private employment, other than wages under a public contract, but it doesn’t apply to: 
- any state or federal job training or workforce development program
- a wage established by a governmental entity that applies to a contract or agreement, including a non-annexation agreement, entered into by a governmental entity and a private entity.
- a private entity that enters into a contract or agreement, including a non-annexation agreement, with a governmental entity, under the terms of which the private entity agrees to comply with a wage established by the governmental entity, is subject to the terms of that contract or agreement, and those terms apply to and may be enforced against a general contractor, subcontractor, developer, and other person with which the private entity contracts in order to comply with the provisions of the original contract or agreement.

Minimum Wage Tipped Workers

Cash Wage: $2.13

Maximum Tip Credit: $5.12

Note: A service or tipped employee means an employee of hotel, motel, tourist place, or restaurant, who customarily and regularly receives more than $20.00 a month in tips.

Note:The cash wage or basic wage rate is the minimum required employer contribution towards your hourly minimum wage. The "maximum tip credit" is the amount of tips you will need on top of your cash wage to make the minimum wage of $7.25 per hour. If you do not receive sufficient tips in your workweek to achieve the minimum wage for all hours worked that week, your employer must make up the difference.

Overtime Pay Texas

Overtime Pay: $10.88 per hour
Overtime pay is the cash compensation for the hours eligible employees work in excess of 40 hours in a workweek (a workweek = 7x24= 168 hours). The overtime pay rate is one and one-half (1.5) times the regular working hour rate of pay.

Patient/Client Texas Department Mental Health

You may me be compensated for work rendered to the Texas Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation or a department facility at a percentage of the minimum wage if:

- you are a patient or client of a department facility;
- your productivity is impaired;
- you assist in the facility as part of your therapy;
- you receive occupational training in a sheltered workshop or other program of the department;
- the department/facility has economic benefit from your work.

The percentage of your wage paid must correspond to the percentage of your    productivity compared with the productivity of a colleague who is doing the same or similar tasks and without similar impaired productivity.
The department has to have rules to determine the base wage and the percentage of productivity of patients and clients necessary to implement the wage rules in this section.
Work and pay in this section may not lead to an employer-employee relationship when you are engaged in an occupational training or therapeutic or rehabilitative services.

Employees Subject to Call

Your employer may not be required to pay you if you are living on the premises of the business and if you, are assigned to certain working hours plus additional hours when you are subject to call for more than the number of working hours you actually work, or are on duty because of assigned working hours.

Violations Minimum Wage

If your employer violates the Texas' minimum wage laws you can claim the amount of unpaid wages plus an additional equal amount as liquidated damage. You must file your claim no later than the second anniversary of the date on which your unpaid wages are due and payable. Your employer can be assessed to pay reasonable attorney’s fees and court costs.
More Info:


Labor Law Section 

101 East 15th Street, Room 124T 

Austin, Texas 78778-0001 


TDD 1-800-735-2989 (Hearing Impaired)