Full Time Minimum Wage: $350 per week

$ 70.00 per day

$350.00 per week

$18,200.00 per year.

Based on a 8 hour day and 260 day work per year before taxes.


West Virginia adopts the federal minimum wage rate by reference. Any changes of the federal minimum wage will automatically affect the minimum wage of West Virginia.

Minimum Wage Tipped Workers

Cash Wage: $2.62

Maximum Tip Credit: $6.13

NOTE: Companies that fall under the jurisdiction of the federal Fair Labor Standards Act for minimum wage coverage may pay the federal tip credit of $2.13 per hour - see below.

Note:The cash wage or basic wage rate is the minimum required employer contribution towards your hourly minimum wage. The "maximum tip credit" - 20% for West-Virginia - is the amount of tips you will need on top of your cash wage to make the minimum wage rate. If you do not receive sufficient tips in your workweek to achieve the minimum wage for all hours worked that week, your employer must make up the difference.

Overtime Pay West Virginia

Jan. 1, 2016: $13.125 per hour
Overtime pay is the cash compensation for the hours eligible employees work in excess of 40 hours in a workweek (a workweek = 7x24= 168 hours). The overtime pay rate is one and one-half (1.5) times the regular working hour rate of pay.
Note: The new Minimum wage bill that goes into effect Jan. 1, 2015 would require all workers to be paid overtime, also workers who are now exempt, like firefighters. Read more about exempt for overtime pay in West Virginia.

Violations Minimum Wage

The commissioner of labor is authorized to make investigations whether there is reasonable believe that the minimum wage is or has been violated.
More info:
West Virginia Division of Labor
Capitol Complex
Building 6, Room 749B
Charleston, West Virginia 25305
(304) 5587890