Pay rate exempt employee West Virginia

What is the pay rate of an employee exempt for minimum wage in West Virginia? Paywizard.org answers.

Question: June 2010

I live in West Virginia where the minimum hourly wage is $7.25 for employers with 6 or more employees at one location. What is the minimum hourly rate is an employer has less than 6 employees at the same location? 

Answer US Paywizard.org:

If an employer doesn't meet the the West Virginia minimum wage and overtime standards, the workers of this employer may be entitled to federal minimum wage and overtime under the FLSA. Check that first.

A good article to find out more about the pay rate for exempt and non-exempt employees is: Hourly wage vs. salary, exempt and non-exempt: "Usually, exempt employees earn more than non-exempt employees do, though not necessarily more per hour. Exempt employees are expected to complete tasks regardless of the amount of hours required to do so. If staying late or coming in early is needed, exempt employees are usually expected to do it. Non-exempt employees usually only work a set number of hours, but with overtime, can do well. Exempt employees have less protection by Federal law against employer abuse. If an exempt employee is given tasks that take 70 hours/week to complete, they can either do the work, or quit. There is no overtime."

loading...