Alabama has no state minimum wage law - the federal minimum wage is applicable.
Or approximately $ 15,080.00 per year.
Based on a 8 hour day and 260 day work per year before taxes.
The Wage and Hour Division of the U.S. Department of Labor is responsible for enforcing the minimum wage law. To file a complaint concerning the minimum wage law you can call the Department's toll-free helpline at 1-866-4-US-WAGE, or contact your nearest Wage and Hour Division office:
Gulf Coast District Office
US Dept. of Labor
Wage and Hour Division
Medical Forum Building, Suite 656
950 22nd Street North
Birmingham, AL 35203-3711
Phone: (205) 397-7100
Mobile Alabama Area Office
1141 Montlimar Drive
Paramont Centrer Building
Mobile, AL 36609
Phone: (251) 441-5311
Cash Wage: $2.13
Maximum Tip Credit: $5.12
Note: Alabama doesn't have a minimum wage law, the state adheres the federal minimum wage.
Note:The cash wage or basic or direct wage rate is the minimum required employer contribution towards your hourly minimum wage. The "maximum tip credit" is the amount of tips you will need on top of your cash wage to make the minimum wage of $7.25 per hour. If you do not receive sufficient tips in your workweek to achieve the minimum wage for all hours worked that week, your employer must make up the difference.
Note: find out about the law for tipped employees according to the Fair Labor Standard Act.
02/26/2016 - The Alabama Gov. Robert Bentley signed into law a prohibition to block cities and counties from setting minimum wages, voiding a minimum wage set to take effect in Birmingham on March 1. Birmingham's legal department has acknowledged that the minimum wage raise with the city's limit has no longer any legal effect.