Arizona Minimum Wage Coverage-Exemptions

The Arizona Minimum Wage Act has very few exemptions, except if you are employed:

by the State of Arizona
by the United States
by a parent or sibling
if you are employed performing babysitting services in an employer's home on a casual basis
by a mall business that is not subject to the Federal Standards Act (FLSA) and which have less than $500.000 in gross annual revenue.

If you click on one of the next links you can find out whether you are covered  by the FLSA for your minimum wage, or exempt:


Jan. 1, 2017: $10.00
Jan. 1, 2018: $10.50
Jan. 1, 2019: $11.00
Jan. 1, 2020: $12.00

Arizona's minimum wage will be adjusted each year from 2021 onwards based on the Consumer Price Index. 

Flagstaff Minimum Wage

30/3/17 - The city’s minimum wage will increase from $8.05 an hour to $15 an hour by 2021. It will also raise wages for tipped workers, such as wait staff at restaurants, to $15 an hour by 2026. It also requires that the city’s minimum wage always be at least $2 above the state minimum wage and that it be increased based on the cost of living each January. That last clause will wind up accelerating the Flagstaff wage hike to $10.50 on July 1, 2017. After that it will increase $1 every year until 2021.

Full Time Minimum Wage: $400 p.w.

per day: $80.00

per week: $400

per year $20,800

Based on a 8 hour day, 40 hours per week and 52 weeks per year before taxes.

Minimum Wage Tipped Workers

Cash Wage: $7.00
Maximum Tip Credit: $3.00

Arizona allows employers to take a $3.00 tip credit towards its minimum wage obligation for tipped employees.

Cash wage:
Jan. 1, 2018: $7.50
Jan. 1, 2019: $8.00
Jan. 1, 2020: $9.00

Note:The cash wage or basic or direct wage rate is the minimum required employer contribution towards your hourly minimum wage. The "maximum tip credit" is the amount of tips you will need on top of your cash wage to make a full minimum wage per hour. If you do not receive sufficient tips in your workweek to achieve the minimum wage for all hours worked that week, your employer must make up the difference.

Minimum Wage Trainees, Internship

Interns or trainees in the for-profit private sector who are qualifying more as employees than as trainees must be paid at least the minimum wage and overtime compensation for more then 40 hours worked in a workweek.

Read more via the next link about Minimum Wage Internships

Violations Minimum Wage

If your employer fails to pay the minimum wage he or she is required to pay you wages owed with interest and an additional amount equal to twice the underpaid wages. If your employer retaliates against he or she has to pay penalties sufficient to compensate you and deter future violations, but no less than $150 for each day that the violation continued or until legal judgment is final. 

If you believe that your employer has violated the Arizona Minimum Wage Act there are two options:

You may file an administrative complaint with the Labor Department of the Industrial Commission of Arizona charging that your employer has violated the Arizona Minimum Wage Act. An administrative complaint must be filed within one year from the date the wages were due.

You may file a civil law suit to enforce the Arizona Minimum Wage Act. The civil action must be filed no later than two years after a violation last occurs, or three in the case of a willful violation. The civil action may include all violations that occurred as part of a continuing course of employer conduct regardless of the date of the violation.